Does Moringa Oleifera Work? Review of Research

Moringa oleifera is an tree and eating the various parts of that tree is said to have many health benefits.  As a result of this, there are a wide variety of moringa supplements now available. As I began to research this supplement I soon learned that there were more claims made about moringa that you can shake a stick. Even Dr. Oz has jumped on the bandwagon calling it an “energy blaster” while others say it helps weight loss too. What I want to do in this review is research the major claims for Moringa oleifera and see if there is any evidence for them. As always, I’ll link to the research I find so you can see it yourself to aid in your own investigations. Hopefully, this review will help you put the claims in a better perspective. If you have heard of benefits and uses I did not cover, please leave a comment below and I will update this review with what I find.

 

What Is Moringa Oleifera?

Moringa oleifera (pronounced “more-ring-ga  oh-la-fair-a”) is the scientific name for a tree that grows in several places around the world. It has many names including the horseradish tree, drumstick tree and benzolive tree and on some websites, it’s even called the “miracle tree”.

I have to say many of the amazing names I see for moringa (“elixir of life,” etc.) are more hype than anything else.

The plant however is quite interesting in that because it’s rich in vitamins, minerals, fats and proteins, it has actually been used to battle malnourishment in developing countries. This is likely why some might call moringa a “super food.” Like all plants, moringa contains healthy stuff like natural antioxidants, but whether this makes it superior to other fruits and vegetables remains to be determined. While some websites like to tout that the plant grows in exotic locations like the Himalayan mountains or dead sea, Moringa oleifera can also be grown in more familiar areas, such as Florida.

Now, let’s cover the evidence for some of the major health benefits of moringa with an emphasis on what the research conducted so far says.

Moringa And Energy

In a segment of the Dr. Oz show, I found YouTube, Dr. Oz calls Moringa olefera an “energy blaster.” To some, this might be a tip that the plant contains a stimulant, like caffeine. But this is not true. There is no caffeine in Moringa oleifera.  That said, I think the claim that moringa  improves energy levels can be traced to other things.

For example, as Dr. Oz noted on his TV show, the plant has three times as much iron as spinach. Iron is a mineral that is needed to make red blood cells. These are the cells the carry oxygen through the blood. Lack of iron can lead to anemia and one of the symptoms of this condition is lack of energy. Theoretically, Moringa olefera supplements, drinking moringa tea  ―or even eating the plant itself―might correct an iron deficiency and in doing so, give people more energy.

So, with that in mind, I searched the National Library of Medicine for:

  • Moringa oleifera energy
  • Moringa oleifera anemia

I located a 2007 study titled Preventive effects of Moringa oleifera (Lam) on hyperlipidemia and hepatocyte ultrastructural changes in iron deficient rats, which noted that when rats were put on an iron deficient diet, giving them Moringa oleifera, reduced cholesterol levels ― but did not prevent anemia from occurring.

Unfortunately, I could not locate any human studies so its hard to tell if moringa improves iron levels in people.

Another possible explanation for moringa boosting energy might stem from claims that the herb raises thyroid hormone levels.  Before we go further, let me briefly mention that there are two main thyroid hormones. They are called:

  • T4 (Thyroxine)
  • T3

The T4 hormone is converted to T3, which is the active thyroid hormone. People who take synthroid ―synthetic thyroid hormone ―are taking synthetic thyroxine (synthetic T4),  sometimes called levo-thyroxine.

So, in keeping with this line of thinking, I searched the National Library of Medicine for:

  • Moringa oleifera thyroid
  • Moringa olifera thyroxine

I found a study published in 2000 titled Role of Moringa oleifera leaf extract in the regulation of thyroid hormone status in adult male and female rats.

In this study, rats were given an extract of the leaf of Moringa oleifera for 10 days. In the female rats, levels of the T3 hormone decreased while T4 (thyroxine) levels increased. Interestingly, no changes in thyroid hormones were seen in male rats.  So, according to this study, moringa appeared to raise levels of thyroxine― but not the more valuable T3 hormone―in female rats.

The amount of the herb given to the rats in this study was 175 mg per kilogram of body weight. In people terms, if a 200 pound person (91 kg) used this amount, it would be 91 x 175 = 15,909 mg (about 16 grams). Would lesser amounts also raise thyroid hormone levels? I don’t know.

Other than this rat study, I can’t find any evidence that Moringa oleifera improves thyroid levels in humans ―female or male.

As an aside, there is an interesting book called Stop the Thyroid Madness: A Patient Revolution Against Decades of Inferior Treatment that people with thyroid problems should read. It’s very educational.

 

Moringa And Weight Loss

Many websites make claims that moringa can help people lose weight so I searched the National Library of Medicine for:

  • Moringa  weight loss
  • Moringa obesity

While I found no weight loss studies of Moringa oleifera itself, I did locate a study from 2012 titled Efficacy and tolerability of a novel herbal formulation for weight management in obese subjects: a randomized double blind placebo controlled clinical study. This investigation looked at the weight loss effects of a compound called “LI85008F” (also called Adipromin) in 25 overweight people.

The LI85008F compound is composed of Moringa oleifera, Murraya koenigi, and Curcuma longa. While the study does report significantly more weight loss in those getting the supplement than placebo, since the supplement contained 3 different herbs, we can’t say the same effect would be seen if people took only moringa.

 

Moringa And Pain

Does moringa reduce inflammation? Is it a natural pain reliever? Some claim it is both of these things, so I searched the National Library of Medicine for:

  • Moringa pain
  • Moringa inflammation

While I saw no human trials showing that this herb reduces pain, I did find a study published in 2011 titled Purification of a chitin-binding protein from Moringa oleifera seeds with potential to relieve pain and inflammation which noted that an extract of moringa seeds exhibited anti-inflammatory properties.  What was this extract? I don’t know. On the downside, this was only a mouse study.

In another study from 2011 titled,  Analgesic effects of methanolic extracts of the leaf or root of Moringa oleifera on complete Freund’s adjuvant-induced arthritis in rats, extracts from the roots and seeds of moringa alleviated pain in rats with arthritis.

What extracts were used in this study, I don’t know, but regardless of that, a  problem with this investigation ―aside from it being a study of rats ―was that the extracts were injected. While oral supplements might work as well, it’s difficult to say at this time.

The amount of the extracts used in this study was 200 mg per kilogram of body weight. Just divide your body weight (in lbs) by 2.2 to see what your weight is in kilograms. For example, if a a 200 pound (91 kg) person were to use this amount, it would be equal to 200 X 91 =18 grams of moringa extract.

Other lab animal research hints that extracts from the roots of moringa might have anti-inflammatory actions, but whether those extracts are available in supplements, and what the optimum dosage might be, remains to be determined.

 

Moringa And Cholesterol

I searched the national library of medicine for “moringa and cholesterol” to see if any studies had been done to see if it helps people with high cholesterol levels. While I found lab animal and test tube studies hinting that moringa might do this, I saw no human studies.  As such, I conclude that while it can’t hurt to add moringa to an otherwise healthy diet (that also includes exercise and weight loss, if needed), currently there appears to be no good human evidence that moringa confers any special cholesterol-lowering benefits over other fruits and vegetables.

Moringa And Diabetes

During my investigation, I saw that some websites were mentioning how moringa can help diabetes and diabetes-related symptoms.  Unfortunately, the websites that say stuff like this do not show any proof for their claims. So, I tried to locate that proof. I searched the national library of medicine for:

  • Moringa oleifera diabetes
  • Moringa olifera blood sugar

All of the studies I saw involved either lab animals or were performed in test tubes. So far, no studies appear to involve humans with diabetes.  Moringa does contain antioxidants which I’m sure can add to the overall health of people with type I and type II diabetes. But I don’t feel using moringa is the only thing those with diabetes should do to help themselves.

Remember, there is far more human evidence that exercise helps diabetes than Moringa oleifera.  For those interested in a more scientific review of this issue, this 2012 study titled, Therapeutic Potential of Moringa oleifera Leaves in Chronic Hyperglycemia and Dyslipidemia: A Review will provide additional insights.

My personal website also has additional information on how exercise and weight loss can help type II diabetes.

Moringa And Asthma

In 2008, a study was published titled  Antiasthmatic activity of Moringa oleifera Lam: A clinical study. In this investigation, 20 people with mild to moderate asthma were given 3 grams of dried seed kernels of Moringa oleifera, twice per day (6 grams total) with water for 3 weeks. At the end of the study, moringa appeared to significantly improve asthma symptoms. There was no placebo group in this study, so this is a weakness of the investigation. Various lab animal research studies also indicate a possible beneficial effect on asthma as well.

 

Moringa And Cancer

There is preliminary evidence that extracts from Moringa oleifera may kill cancer cells. The types of cancer that might be most affected include ovarian cancer, lung cancer, breast cancer pancreatic cancer and skin cancer. Most of the research so far looks like its relegated to animals and test tubes. I’m not aware of any human proof at this time. For a more in-depth discussion, see the review titled Possible Role of Moringa oleifera Lam. Root in Epithelial Ovarian Cancer.

 

Moringa And AIDS

According to a 2012 survey of HIV positive patients in Zimbabwe appearing in the Journal of Public Health in Africa, at least 80% of people with HIV have used Moringa  oleifera to boost their immune systems.  If this holds true elsewhere, it means moringa may be a popular alternative treatment by those with HIV and AIDS.  But, does it work? I searched the National Library of Medicine for:

  • Moringa HIV
  • Moringa AIDS
  • Moringa Immune
  • Moringa CD4 (an immune cell effected by HIV)

I saw no published human studies on the use of moringa and AIDS. Therefore, I can’t say if it helps HIV/AIDS or not. I did see some test tube and lab animal studies suggesting that extracts of moringa might have an immune inhibiting effect.  Since HIV also inhibits the immune system, I don’t know what this means for those with HIV who take Moringa oleifera supplements.

On the site ClinicalTrials.gov, I did locate a trial where researchers were testing whether Moringa altered  the metabolism of some HIV drugs. In other words, they wanted to see if it helped or hindered the drugs. As of the time of this review, the results were not posted.

For more on Moringa research, see this 2015 review article that mentions additional human studies. Scroll down to the “Human Studies” section. This article lists studies I did not include in my review.

How Much Works?

There really isn’t enough human evidence to know for sure how much Moringa oleifera is effective. Also, the amount could be different depending on the reason it was being taken. On the Dr. Oz segment I saw, he recommended taking 400 mg per day in a supplement drinking moringa tea twice a day. While no citation was given to say how Dr. Oz arrived at 400 mg per day, I assume it was extrapolated from lab animal research.

Given that the Dr. Oz segment was about boosting energy levels, I assume that the 400 mg per day he advocated would be limited to those who are looking to improve energy levels.

 

Moringa Supplements

There are many different ways to add moringa to a healthy diet. Looking at Amazon, I found

One supplement people often ask about – called Zija – is also a moringa supplement. 

The good news is that most moringa supplements are not expensive. In addition, no supplement appears to have better evidence than others. So, it really appears to be mostly about what your personal preference is.

 

Moringa Side Effects

Since moringa has been given to people in developing countries who don’t get enough to eat, I think it is safe for most people. That said, currently there isn’t a lot of human research to show what the side effects of moringa might be in people who have health issues or who take medications. As such, I feel it’s prudent to consult  a pharmacist or doctor before using moringa supplements just to be on the safe side. Below are a couple of things I turned up that I feel are worth mentioning.

Pregnant women should not take Moringa oleifera. There is some lab animal evidence that it might cause an abortion . I’m not aware of any human evidence to prove this happens in people, but it is best to avoid while pregnant, just to be safe.

Stop taking moringa supplements at least 2 weeks before surgery.

There is an extract in moringa that may raise blood pressure and heart rate. While the plant itself might have little of this extract, it’s possible that some supplements may contain concentrated levels as a way of attaining a specific effect (as in weight loss for example). This may be an problem for people with heart disease or high blood pressure or conditions related to these issues.  Currently, I’m not aware of anyone having blood pressure or heart problems while taking moringa supplements.

Does Moringa Work?

I think some of the evidence on Moringa oleifera is really interesting but it seems that most of the health benefits people are making for it are based lab animal and test tube research.  That doesn’t mean Moringa has no value ―it might ―but rather that there just isn’t enough human research yet for me to have an opinion either way. While it’s been used to treat malnutrition in developing countries, it’s hard to say whether moringa adds anything to the health of those who are healthy and eat well. The tree does have a lot of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and other nutrients and so I can understand why people would want to add it to their diet. As far as I can tell, no specific brand of moringa supplements stands out over others as being the “best.” The good news is that most moringa supplements are not too expensive for those who want to try it.

Here are all the moringa supplements on Amazon so you can check them all out.

What do you think?

Comments

  1. George Mancer says

    I appreciate your efforts. However, limiting your searches the National Library of Medicine is vastly inferior to doing the many hours of boots-on-the-E-ground global internet searches. You may want to consider checking with GreenMedinfo’s research database, just for one example. With a truly global search, though, you may have to translate some of the resultant links. Research published in English is not the only arena for finding gold-standard published research. Short: don’t limit to NLM. Downside: expect to spend manyfold hours to find the larger picture. I do. I’m tempted to just give you some of the research links on Moringa, but let’s see if you can find them on your own.

    Nevertheless, I have found your diggings helpful in several cases, and appreciate your efforts.

    • Joe says

      George, thanks for your feedback. Truth be told, I consult other resources when I review supplements (I also consult many of the books I personally own too) but you are correct, NML does make up a good part of what I link to because its freely accessible to anyone. Since I only speak English I’m limited to English studies. I’ve book marked the green med info website so I thank you for that.

      • George Mancer says

        Thanks for the prompt reply. I honor your work. A few other published works found on greenmedinfo’s research section, regarding Moringa, for any interested:

        Moringa oleifera leaves have high antioxidant properties, probably due to direct free radical trapping and metal chelation.
        Pubmed Data : Food Chem Toxicol. 2009 Jun 9. PMID: 19520138
        Article Published Date : Jun 09, 2009
        Study Type : Human Study

        Moringa oleifera are a valuable source of vitamin A.
        Pubmed Data : Plant Foods Hum Nutr. 2001;56(1):83-95. PMID: 11213172
        Article Published Date : Jan 01, 2001
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera exhibits antioxidant, hypolipidaemic and antiatherosclerotic activities.
        Pubmed Data : J Ethnopharmacol. 2008 Mar 28;116(3):439-46. Epub 2007 Dec 23. PMID: 18249514
        Article Published Date : Mar 28, 2008
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera exhibits liver protective properties in rats receiving antitubercular drugs.
        Pubmed Data : J Med Food. 2002 Fall;5(3):171-7. PMID: 12495589
        Article Published Date : Sep 01, 2002
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera has a cholesterol lowering effect in an animal model.
        Pubmed Data : J Ethnopharmacol. 2003 Jun;86(2-3):191-5. PMID: 12738086
        Article Published Date : Jun 01, 2003
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera has a preventive and curative effect on calcium oxalate stone formation (urolithiasis) in rats.
        Pubmed Data : J Ethnopharmacol. 2006 Apr 21;105(1-2):306-11. Epub 2006 Jan 4. PMID: 16386862
        Article Published Date : Apr 21, 2006
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera has an ameliorating effect for glucose tolerance in rats.
        Pubmed Data : J Clin Biochem Nutr. 2007 May;40(3):229-33. PMID: 18398501
        Article Published Date : May 01, 2007
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera has significant wound healing property.
        Pubmed Data : Indian J Exp Biol. 2006 Nov;44(11):898-901. PMID: 17205710
        Article Published Date : Nov 01, 2006
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera inhibits arsenic-induced oxidative stress and may act as an arsenic chelator.
        Pubmed Data : Cell Biol Int. 2007 Jan;31(1):44-56. Epub 2006 Sep 15. PMID: 17055307
        Article Published Date : Jan 01, 2007
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera inhibits skin lesions associated with herpes simplex virus type 1 in mice.
        Pubmed Data : Antiviral Res. 2003 Nov;60(3):175-80. PMID: 14638393
        Article Published Date : Nov 01, 2003
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera leaf possesses significant cardioprotective properties.
        Pubmed Data : J Med Food. 2009 Feb;12(1):47-55. PMID: 19298195
        Article Published Date : Feb 01, 2009
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera leaves have significant anti-diabetic activity in a rat model.
        Pubmed Data : J Ethnopharmacol. 2009 Jun 25;123(3):392-6. Epub 2009 Apr 5. PMID: 19501271
        Article Published Date : Jun 25, 2009
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera may have therapeutic value in the treatment of hyperthyroidism.
        Pubmed Data : Pharmacol Res. 2000 Mar;41(3):319-23. PMID: 10675284
        Article Published Date : Mar 01, 2000
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera may prevent hyperlipidemia and tissue changes in liver cells due to iron-deficiency.
        Pubmed Data : Biosci Biotechnol Biochem. 2007 Aug;71(8):1826-33. Epub 2007 Aug 7. PMID: 17690476
        Article Published Date : Aug 01, 2007
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera may provide protection against Alzheimer’s disease in a rat model.
        Pubmed Data : Indian J Med Res. 2008 Dec;128(6):744-51. PMID: 19246799
        Article Published Date : Dec 01, 2008
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera prevents acetaminophen induced liver injury through restoration of glutathione level.
        Pubmed Data : Food Chem Toxicol. 2008 Aug;46(8):2611-5. Epub 2008 Apr 25. PMID: 18514995
        Article Published Date : Aug 01, 2008
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera protects against antitubercular drug induced damage in rats.
        Pubmed Data : J Med Food. 2003 Fall;6(3):255-9. PMID: 14585192
        Article Published Date : Sep 01, 2003
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera protects against ulcer formation by modulating serotonin.
        Pubmed Data : Drug Alcohol Depend. 1994 Feb;34(3):225-9. PMID: 20637582
        Article Published Date : Feb 01, 1994
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera seed extract has anti-arthitic activity in rats.
        Pubmed Data : J Immunotoxicol. 2007 Jan;4(1):39-47. PMID: 18958711
        Article Published Date : Jan 01, 2007
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera seed extract have therapeutic activity in systemic and local anaphyalaxis.
        Pubmed Data : J Immunotoxicol. 2007 Oct;4(4):287-94. PMID: 18958739
        Article Published Date : Oct 01, 2007
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Moringa oleifera seed extract may have value in the treatment of chemically stimulated immune-mediated asthma.
        Pubmed Data : Drugs. 2003;63(1):71-100. PMID: 18958717
        Article Published Date : Jan 01, 2003
        Study Type : Animal Study

        This traditional dietary supplement is justified in hypertensive patients according to its composition and its ability to reduce blood pressure has been demonstrated experimentally.
        Pubmed Data : J Ethnopharmacol. 2012 Mar 24. Epub 2012 Mar 24. PMID: 22480886
        Article Published Date : Mar 23, 2012
        Study Type : Animal Study

        Extracts of Moringa oleifera inhibit DNA damage and free radical activity.
        Pubmed Data : Food Chem Toxicol. 2009 Jun;47(6):1109-16. PMID: 19425184
        Article Published Date : Jun 01, 2009
        Study Type : In Vitro Study

        Moringa oleifera contains compounds which show promise as anti-cancer agents.
        Pubmed Data : Mutat Res. 1999 Apr 6;440(2):181-8. PMID: 10209341
        Article Published Date : Apr 06, 1999
        Study Type : In Vitro Study

        Moringa oleifera contains compounds with hypotensive activity.
        Pubmed Data : Planta Med. 1998 Apr;64(3):225-8. PMID: 9581519
        Article Published Date : Apr 01, 1998
        Study Type : In Vitro Study

        Moringa oleifera has antifungal activity against various deromatophytes.
        Pubmed Data : PLoS One. 2011;6(1):e14575. Epub 2011 Jan 24. PMID: 16406607
        Article Published Date : Jan 01, 2011
        Study Type : In Vitro Study

        Moringa oleifera inhibits Epstein-Barr virus activity.
        Pubmed Data : Planta Med. 1998 May;64(4):319-23. PMID: 9619112
        Article Published Date : May 01, 1998
        Study Type : In Vitro Study

        Moringa oleifera prevents ulcer formation in gastric tissue.
        Pubmed Data : Indian J Exp Biol. 2007 Aug;45(8):726-31. PMID: 17877150
        Article Published Date : Aug 01, 2007
        Study Type : In Vitro Study

        Review: Moringa oleifera has a variety of medicinal uses.
        Pubmed Data : Phytother Res. 2007 Jan;21(1):17-25. PMID: 17089328
        Article Published Date : Jan 01, 2007

        Study Type : Review

        • Joe says

          George, I truly appreciate you listing all of those studies especially since they come from a source other than the national library of medicine, as that was a concern you had expressed previously with my research methods. I looked at all of the studies you provided and they are all either lab animal (rats, mice) or test tube studies or review articles. I didn’t see any human studies of moringa listed. I believe you corroborated my conclusions about moringa and I do thank you for that.

        • Dr. Kazina says

          Thank you for extrapolating and nitpicking George. You may not feel the same as me, but it seems like this guy probably works for the government, or is just not that good of a researcher or thinker..

          for the record for anyone reading and really wanting to know, pretty much all diseases and disorders can be reversed with real living, abstaining from mainstream poisoned crap, detoxifying that already taken, making sure the diet had pure nutrition providing all necessary nutrients, and also renourishing the mind, heart and soul

    • Michel says

      I’m tempted too……but I’ll just be vague……tempted,vague…..that’s what I am before I read sup geek. Thanks for the work and effort you put into providing this information Joe.

  2. Basem says

    Thanks for the efforts. We should know that the dose for the animal is different from the dose of the human., for example when we want to calculate the 200 mg/kg dose of moringa for the rat we should divide it to 6.2, so 200/6.2 x 91=2.94 gm

  3. amalia lacreo says

    Do you think GOD let moringa plant grow and loaded it with vitamins and minerals just for nothing… Why humans take supplements because they want to be healthy and moringa has it all..

    • terry says

      Once you heat up any natural plant it loses all its good qualities, how do they get it to a pill without doing that, the only thing I can see is that you take the leaves and eat it or make tea then you might have something, otherwise its just another gimmick for someone to make money. Eat healthy and natural, you will be better off.

      • Topaz says

        I dry mine in a dehydrator at low temperature, grind it in a grinder and store it in a glass jar. This power could be packaged in plastic caps and sold. So that’s one way of doing it.

  4. Lisa Overdorp says

    Just came across your site, thanks for the helpful info. My sister starting taking moringa (Zija brand) only to help out her son who had become a distributor.

    Within one month her high blood pressure normalized and she was able to stop taking her blood pressure drugs. I’m considering taking it after reading your review as it may be beneficial for my hypoththyroidism.

    The main reason human studies aren’t funded is because big pharma is making too much money from patented drugs.

    • Joe says

      Lisa, universities can do studies so it’s not just up to pharma. I know big pharma has been know to buy supplement companies so I’m not sure they want to suppress anything. If they can make money with supplements, they will. Let me know if it helps your thyroid problem or if not. I’m curious.

      • Dr. Kazina says

        This is ignorant lol, do you work for the government or something???? Universities are controlled anyways.

        You also don’t need to be Rosetta Stone to use studies from the world over, many are in English anyways, and we have translation methods good enough for the Tower of Babil so it seems like you don’t want deserving supplements or foods to get their glory, or you just don’t care, or are too compromised yourself to think properly.

        If a supplement works big pharma either rapes and mutates and attaches it to poison to sell for a thousand times more, or it suppresses it and talks bad about it, either directly or with any of their illions dollar connections, which includes the government and food industry.

        They are pure evil and if you don’t know that you’ve got way more research to do.. but don’t just stick to your mainstream sources for that mind you.

        Moringa is more amazing than you can imagine, and if you want to just use US human studies then ask yourself why the hell if they keep testing on animals anyway.. though animals getting moringa could thankfully be healed from previous damage and torture done to them by toxic compounds in the name of government corporate sponsored bullshyt

        • Joe says

          Dr. Kazina, Would you care to share some of those studies here on how Amazing moringa is? How about 3 of the best. Please keep to only human studies that are in English and let’s discuss them.

          • Dr. Kazina says

            It did not take long to find this discussing multiple human studies in addition to other kinds (in English) so I am sure it would not be difficult to find more studies but I’m on my phone and not proficient with it for researching and posting online so I’ll just paste this one here since it hopefully meets your specifications
            http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/ptr.5325/full

          • Joe says

            Dr. Kazina, thanks for sharing that review article and linking to the full study so everyone can read it also. I did update my review with a link to that article so people can read it for themselves if they like. I did notice that the authors of the study noted that “data collected from human subjects are limited” which is basically the point I was getting at when I looked at the evidence.

  5. PandDmom says

    I appreciate that you sift through all of this research and translate it for we lay people. I have recently learned about Zija – I take Juice Plus currently and it took me about five years of research to make that decision.

    In your opinion, given the lack of human studies on Moringa oleifera, is Juice Plus a comparable means of supplementation?

    Currently, I take krill oil in addition to the JP – I’m told that Zija contains a combination of omega 3 and 6 oils that would make fish or krill oil supplementation unnecessary. Is there any published research to bear this out?

    • Joe says

      PanDmom, between the two, I go with the one that has research. I know Juice Plus has research. Im not aware of any research on Zija. I wouldn’t worry about omega 6 fatty acids. Odds are you already get enough of them.

      As for Omega 3s, I believe the type in Zija comes from alpha linolenic acid (ALA) which is not the same thing as fish oil omega 3 fats (EPA and DHA). For one thing, we turn ALA into EPA and DHA – but we have a very limited ability to do it. I don’t believe the effects of ALA are the same as EPA and DHA either.

      Here is a review on Krill Oil I wrote for more info on that.

      any other questions, just ask :)

  6. Anne says

    Thank you for your research and information. I am finishing my MPH and am interested in doing my thesis on nutritional benefits of Moringa and if there is evidence showing that Moringa can combat malnutrition in developing countries. I have also had a very hard time finding any evidence-based data and clinical studies that I can use. There are many claims and perceived benefits out there but hardly any concrete human research, which is surprising and frustrating. I am really wondering why that is???

    Just in case you haven’t seen these, here are the only two human studies I found surrounding nutritional benefits of Moringa:

    Nutritional and Clinical Rehabilitation of Severely Malnourished Children with Moringa oleifera Lam. Leaf Powder in Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso)
    http://miracletrees.org/moringa-doc/rehabilitation-moringa.pdf

    IMPACT OF DAILY CONSUMPTION OF MORINGA (MORINGA OLEIFERA) DRY LEAF POWDER ON IRON STATUS OF SENEGALESE LACTATING WOMEN
    http://www.ajol.info/index.php/ajfand/article/view/69176/57213

    Thanks again.

    • Joe says

      Ellie thanks. Ive added the study to my files. I think this is a test tube study but it does add to our knowledge of Moringa. Id be interested to see a follow up study to see if it prolongs the lives of people with cancer. Keep me posted if you find anything else.

  7. Shannon says

    Hi Joe – I just wanted to say that I really appreciate your writing style in covering topics. this article is the first I have read but truly like your approach. I am not saying that I agree with everything or the way you research but you have certainly motivated me to research more for myself based on interest in the way you kindly rebuke or question the “here say”. So well done, and I look forward to reading more or your posts.

    you must have great delta in dealing with some of the comments from certain readers who passionately express themselves in comments. nothing wrong with that either, but it takes a person of great patience and a kind spirit to deal with that correctly. I don’t think I could be that person but, reading your posts and answers is also a great little life lesson, so thanks for being that person. Sincerely, your friends are fortunate to know you.

    • Joe says

      Shannon, that is SO kind of you to say. I believe everyone has a voice and that the answer is out there if we can all come together in rational conversation. You truly have made my day :)

      • K says

        I just want to second what Shannon wrote. You know, in life what matters most is the extent to which we’re able to choose loving and wise ways in which to respond to the things that come our way and the extent to which we put love out into the world (and I don’t mean the mushy sentimental kind of love, but just respect and concern for others’ feelings and humanness). The “how” of our responses and actions reflects hugely on who we are as people, and, Joe, you’ve shown yourself to be an exceptional person in how you’ve responded to certain commenters. A life lesson indeed, as stated by Shannon, but a big one, not a little one. Thank you for that reminder of how to be a better person and thank you for being who you are. The world is lucky to have you in it, and we are fortunate to witness your “how”.

        • Joe says

          K, you are SO KIND to say that. I am deeply flattered and humbled by your words. I really appreciate you taking the time out of your busy day to reach out to me.

  8. Mike Spadaccini says

    Hi Joe & fellow poster’s,
    As someone investigating zija, I find it alarming that there is no scientific proof, or peer reviewed studies backing the efficacy of this company & line of products. In a world whereby many are searching for health answers, I find it amazing that most will not conduct their own due diligence in fully researching a product & the company bringing it to market. My delving thus far into zija is nothing short of massively alarming. As for the Moringa plant itself it obviously offers benefit but alas without solid scientific evidence.

    Sadly most mlm companies bypass the facts via the opportunity of financial gain. I do not have a problem at all with products brought to market via mlm, as long as they are the real deal & have the above mentioned criteria. For me the basic mantra for any company, or person, promoting a health product in particular should be – It will do no harm – It is proven by science with peer reviewed studies – It will offer true benefit – It does not have hype or the promise of cure – It allows the individual the opportunity to do their due diligence without pressure before making any decision.

    Charlatans galore out there so please be diligent & that is why I have enjoyed this blog. It offers solid advise based upon diligence & the opportunity for others to make comment.

    Thanks Joe, and I look forward to viewing further blogs as this has helped me in my evaluation of zija (on behalf of another)

    If I may, I would like to invite you to take a look at a glutathione breakthrough that meets all the criteria I have mentioned. If you care to take a look with your due diligence I would look forward to your feedback. Not sure if it is ethical for me to post a link here, but if interested you have my email & I can forward you a basic link offering an overview.

    Mike Spadaccini

    • Joe says

      Mike, thanks, if you email let me know the product I will add it to my list. BTW, your website link didn’t work when I clicked on it so I took it out but if you email it to me, I’ll insert it for you.

  9. Stephanie says

    I am interested in the positive effects that I have heard and read about Moringa. While trying to find if it had an interaction with birth control (seeing as there are little to no human studies I might not know this for awhile) I came across an article which might not be accredited.

    The article mentioned that Moringa is used as a natural form of birth control. What alarmed me is that this article mentioned that it was used in certain countries as a form of permanent birth control by prostitutes. This leads me to believe that it would make a woman infertile forever. I have provided that link to the article below. From the articles that you or any posters on here have read, do you see this to be true?

    http://www.wellnesstoday.com/nutrition/7-things-you-didn-t-know-about-moringa

    • Joe says

      Stephanie, I mentioned this possibility in my review although I don’t know if it would cause permanent infertility. Parts of the plant might cause contractions of the uterus. this might cause a miscarriage.

      The article you cited did link to did review articles on this possibility:
      http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1924986/

      One professional who may be able to help you shed light on this – besides your doctor – is your local pharmacist. I’ve found that they are usually pretty good with supplement educations.

      • Jennifer S says

        Hi Joe,

        I enjoyed reading your take on moringa. I knew that there were studies being conducted at John Hopkins University regarding it and I don’t recall seeing it in your review. I wanted to share it with you as well as my personal results.
        The study at John Hopkins can be found at this link. http://www.tfljournal.org/article.php/20051201124931586. It was completed by Jed W. Fahey, Sc.D. and there are references to other works that he has studied.

        I was taking it from 2010-2012, and recently started again. I am using Zija, and I am quite happy with the results. When I began taking it I weighed 260, I lost down to 200 and became pregnant with twin girls, while taking it. I continued taking it during my pregnancy, with my doctors support. I carried my girls 37 weeks and gave birth to a 5lb 10 oz, and 6lb 12 oz healthy babies. There is part of the moringa tree that can be used as birth control, and is contra-indicated in pregnancy, though I cannot remember which part, but I believe it is the root.

        I have also been able to come off of my blood pressure meds, I was on 3 due to heart failure caused by a previous pregnancy. During my twin pregnancy I was closely monitored for any further heart issues, but was given a clean bill of health. I am not a doctor, so I can’t say that Moringa healed me, but I can say that my heart is no longer showing signs of damage, my blood pressure has been reduced, and I feel great. I would love if the human trials were completed and this wonderful tree was given the credit I feel it would receive.

        • Joe says

          Hi Jennifer, thanks for showing me that reference. I did not see it when I wrote my Moringa review. It appears to be a review article of previous research. Nothing wrong with that. I’m going to read it and if brings up anything I missed, Ill update my review. I am very glad to hear that you health is doing better.

  10. sasank says

    My age is 23.i was suffering from ankilo spondiletis,a type of arthritis. I got HLA B27+ve.what type of treatment would u recommend. Allopathy, homeopathy, Ayurveda, naturecure?.
    Can I use moringoleifera?

    • Joe says

      Hi Sasank, Unfortunately I’m not aware of any evidence moringa helps your form of arthritis. Since Im not a doctor, Im going to recommend you speak to your rheumatologist about whether moringa can help you.

  11. dan says

    hello i bought these in pill form and recently started to use them and to be honest u do feel very energetic and happier i lost a few pounds and my muscle is showing more.

    i didnt really change anything i always drink water and i work for ups so a hard labor job tons of lifting and walking but its funny because people would tell me hey you are looking good you seem more muscular and less fatigued plus at night it took forever to fall asleep

    now i feel more relaxed and fall asleep easily so i can say i have experienced something i didnt get off eating healthy or other supplements and im a health freak

    i dont drink or smoke and stay away from sugars i use tons of natural products i can say moringa has been great and it does not hurt to try…

  12. dan says

    btw if moringa was a bandwagon i wish everyone can join the ride 😉 i wouldn’t say its a Hype either because not too many people know about it besides word of mouth … their may not be tons of studies on humans but thousands have wrote good things about it even family friends claim they love it just like medical marijuana

    just because their is not tons of test or proof does not mean it does not work medicinal plants have been used for centuries before man made medicine and even if the gov or fda or docs did millions of test what makes u think they would want people to know the great results i’m sure they would patent it and lock it away like “medical marijuana”

    they could careless if u are healthy or not they just want $$$ most of the crap they approve is bad for ex. marijuana oil aka “rso” cures thousands maybe even millions of people with cancer but they would never tell u that the media doesn’t cover it or they claim theirs not enough test or proof like really come open up and stop with the b/s and stop relying on pity test

    did u know big companies test on animals but most of the time dead ones which is useless dead animals dont have brain cells anymore and when people are given the phrama meds and have bad experiences fda and others claim the product is good for u when its truly not but the thing with moringa and other medicinal plants is tons of people millions for generations use it and live for many many years shouldn’t that be enough… well have a good one

Leave a Reply and join the conversation.